Guru Sales Pitches and Products of Shame


Today, I am starting this blog post to name products and gurus whose products are either not worth the money, or their sales pitches are so ludicrous that they should be ashamed of themselves. These products in this post are only meant to take money from you wallet.

It’s about time the FTC cracks down on these so-called “gurus” that make claims that money comes automatically and don’t need work.  There is no push button magic system.  If that was the case .. why would they sell it?  Think about it… we would all be rich!

I believe we have a duty to be honest and help people succeed in real estate investing, not set them up for failure.

If you want to add any sales product or guru name … Leave me a comment below

Duncan’s List products that I don’t recommend.

1. Real Estate Match Maker – http://realestatematchmaker.com/ – Why ?  The sales pitch is so over hyped, you are doomed to fail.

2. Anything Micheal Kimble Promotes! His e-mail sales pitches are over hyped and not realistic. He is not a real estate investor.

3. Zack Childress  – Not one original thought in his head. Copies other courses and software, however the quality of  the work is shocking.

3. More coming soon

Buyer Beware!

Disclaimer:  There are many products I do endorse.  I also have a course that I sell. My intention is not to knock other products to sell my course. I feel for people who get ripped off because they believe in the unethical and dishonest sales pitches

15 thoughts on “Guru Sales Pitches and Products of Shame

  1. victor

    I once heard you tell a story about going to your “grandmother’s” house and being chased by a dog only to hear the exact same story told by Jeff Adams.

    Reply
    1. Duncan Wierman Post author

      Actually you are wrong. You are putting two stories into one that I use. There maybe some similarities but they are not the same.

      1. Jeff never had a grandmother story. (Maybe he borrowed it – I do not know )
      2. Jeff’s Door Knocking story was about a drunk homeless man chasing hime – since we both did door knocking – my experience was with a dog.

      So maybe you should listen closer – PLUS its a good idea that you actually go out and do some real estate deals and get some hands on experience to know what it’s like out there !

      SO … to end .. that’s why I put my course together how to do it online !!!
      Jeff’s talk was about using his websites which is only a small part of virtual investing !

      Reply
  2. Vince

    I hope you’ll have a work up on Michael Kimble. I just had an encounter with one of his latest JVs called; Evolve Strategies, LLC. They are in : 1780 W 9000 S STE 309 West Jordan, UT 84088.
    The “president” of this company is? Sean Martin ?, who shows up as one of the owners of an Evolve Realty Group in Newark California, that’s possibly dissolved.

    Anyway, a Utah boiler room phone operator feels me out for the sucker signal. $25,000 investment, but broken down to only $7,500 initial and the rest blah, blah, blah. OK.

    A second, more aggressive sales guy tells me a fairy tail, for which I fell for, about how I’ll be able to have access to Michael’s millions, network, resources and coaching to use to acquire large multi million $ packages from banks, making money within 30 days. They have this, that and the other, ready to go, but they need someone in the area on the ground to be their contact person, blah, blah. Someone will fly out and take me through similar deals, so that I can do it with some coaching on my own after that.

    And that’s where the split comes in. The first $60,000 will be split 50/50 minus the remainder I still owe them, but the coaching will continue as long as I need it. This guy “Sonny” the coach is painted up as a real estate guy, who’s done 100s of millions of $s in deals will contact me and get this show on the road.
    I said I don’t have the money available right away, so he drills me for half ($3,750).

    All right, I’m handed off to a contract admin and that’s when I start to hear the boiler room background noises. Quickly an electronic contract is signed and I hear the guy shout; “Got a signed contract”. Another voice gets on the line; “congratulations, how do you feel, blah, blah…” Surprisingly, they take the time to explain the cancellation details, so I feel better.
    I guess it’s over, but the line stays open and I hear chatter, laughing noises. It’s @10 pm, I’m dog tired from a 10 hr work day and this 3 hr exchange, so I hang up.

    Next day I’m busy with my life, but reading the contract more thoroughly I start to get angry. There is nothing in it what we talked about on the phone, except for the money split and certain coaching promises, but even those fall short.

    “Sonny” calls me. I said you’d better be straight or I’m rescinding the whole thing. He’s trying to appease me, talking about how it’s necessary to start from the beginning, see what I know, because he could show me what huge deals he’s working on: a marina development, construction, pulling permits, land deals, blah, blah.., but I wouldn’t know what to do with that. I should just work on talking to sellers, a no money down deal for a quick buck, etc.. I said; you better get with the sales guy, because this not what I signed up for.
    -OK, ok, how about a call from the “president” of the company and get this whole thing straightened out? I’ll send you an e-mail with all the contact info, coaching plan, etc…
    -Sure do that.

    Next day, no e-mail, long wait for the call. Finally, Saun Martin, president of Evolve Strategies calls me.

    ..to be continued.

    Reply
    1. Gracie

      Has this been continued yet? I’m really anxious to hear how it came out, as I’ve had my 1st 2 calls similar to what “Vince” states on Aug 4. I haven’t committed any money yet, & am afraid to after what I read about. Please let me know ASAP how this continues. Thanks!

      Reply
    2. John Bloxham

      Hi Vince, I fell for the same crap with Evolve. They have done nothing for me for $25,000. I would like to gather contact info on all people that have been wronged by evolve and do a class action suit. Have already talked with a lawyer. You may contact me at databack48@hotmail.com or 415-385-8496. Thanks John Bloxham

      Reply
      1. Vince

        Alright then, let me finish this.
        As soon as you start talking to the big guys, what seems like to them is their level, – which is knowing the score -, they become reasonable. So I told Shaun? I’m not comfortable with any of this and I want to cancel everything, but to be safe I’m sending copies to the proper authorities (Attorney Gen of Utah), so reverse any charges on my card immediately.
        He must have had a moment of clarity, because he said OK, forget everything, you’re not (worthy?) ready for this big step. He hung up. I went to check my bank account and saw, that they didn’t charge me (yet?), so I’m not out any money. I waited a week to make sure there are no charges and didn’t even send the letter to the Attn Gen.
        That was the end of dealing with Evolve, but I noticed, a lot of “Gurus” hand their funnel to the Utah boiler rooms.
        Nowadays I hear, more and more Gurus advocate, that you’re not in the Real Estate business, but in the Marketing business. For them, this is certainly true and it’s a shame, that they think marketing is to get money from people, by any means possible.
        I love dealing in Real Estate and willing to partner with others, but a lot of people seem to think, scamming is the way to go about in life.
        Thank you all.

  3. Quinton Johnson

    I’m a sucker for the Michael Kimble Evolve Strategies LLC Rip off.
    I got the call from Dain Westmoreland back in August 2013 : in the office at :1780 W 9000 S STE 309 West Jordan, UT 84088.
    Dain promised me that Evolve Strategies LLC would set up business contacts here in my state Ca, find & fund my deals and give me listings of deals for me to go after. I would be the contact person here in Ca to manage the deals they put together. I was told It would cost 20K to get involved but settled on $7,500.
    After seeing and reading the contract it threw up a Red Flag. Nothing that was discussed was in it so I called Mr. Dain W, (801 727-8234) he said it would all be handled in the training. I got Sonny as my trainer and our first training calls were 1-2 hours late and we didn’t go over anything significant another, “Red flag”
    I have yet to receive a trading secret or anything from their company in any form.
    I’ve since asked for a refund of my money and I’m not getting responses to my emails or phone calls.
    There’s a Face book page that I commented on also…

    Thanks to the person starting this Blog

    Hoping to get my refund… Too be continued…

    Que in Calif

    Reply
    1. Duncan Wierman Post author

      There are many people who have had this very same experience. These sales guys promise you the world, and deliver nothing. Kimble does not even do real estate deals. He is an information marketer only.

      Reply
    2. John Bloxham

      Hi Quinton, I too have been screwed by Evolve. I would like to get your information to add to a list for a class action against this Fraudulent company. I lost $25,000. I am in the San Francisco Bay area. you can reach me at databack48@hotmail.com or 415-385-8496

      Reply
  4. CHARLES

    TO ALL THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED “EVOLVE STRATEGIES” WAY OF DOING BUSINESS, I ASK THAT YOU CONTACT ME DIRECTLY AND “LET’S HAVE A CONVERSATIUON”! MY CLIENT HAS BEEN TAKEN BY THESE PEOPLE BUT THE BEST THING IS THEY HIRED ME, YOU CAN GET YOUR MONEY BACK,..YOU CAN BE HELPED.

    Reply
  5. CHARLES

    TO ALL THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED “EVOLVE STRATEGIES” WAY OF DOING BUSINESS, I ASK THAT YOU CONTACT ME DIRECTLY AND “LET’S HAVE A CONVERSATIUON”! MY CLIENT HAS BEEN TAKEN BY THESE PEOPLE BUT THE BEST THING IS THEY HIRED ME, YOU CAN GET YOUR MONEY BACK,..YOU CAN BE HELPED. GENIUS@COLDDOLLAR.COM 480.256.9228

    Reply

Leave a Reply

